Why I’m A Good Hire

AirBrush_20170331180417.jpg
How I feel when I try to brag about myself… Has to be done, though. 😛

 

21,500. That’s the number of students who will be graduating within the media and communications field in this country, according to Stats Canada.

Another one hundred and four thousand will be graduating in the larger business management and public administration context.

That is tough competition. If there’s anything I’ve learned in the last year, it’s that there’s quite a demand for intelligent workers with strong writing skills, persuasive presentation abilities, and a distinct voice.

This demand is met by quite a bustling supply of graduates, enthusiastic and eager, ready to give work tasks their all. As entry-level students, we all have similar skills, at least on paper. We have the writing skills. We have the critical thinking skills. And thanks to experiences such as these, we have the presentation skills.

However, I am here to tell you exactly why I am a fantastic candidate for a position within this field. While I believe everyone has something to offer the world, I offer a unique blend of raw talent, self-awareness, and resilience that every organization would benefit from. I want to tell you today THREE of the MAIN reasons why you should hire me.

  • Firstly, I am at the core a storyteller. I am deeply aware that creating meaningful content is at the core of what we do as PR professionals. I don’t take that responsibility lightly. Whether I’m writing a 140-character Tweet or designing a newsletter, I never lose sight of the incredible opportunity to communicate to my audience. I am intently aware that every part of this interaction counts and either builds credibility and trust in the audience or destroys it. This kind of inherent understanding and storytelling capability is what makes me a committed communicator.
  • Secondly, I have a very broad perspective which informs my point of view and strengthens my work. For example, I have lived in four countries, speak three languages fluently and originate from a drastically different culture. I remember arriving in each country for the first time, and recognizing that from this moment on, nothing would ever be the same. I had to learn the new slang, new language, new ways of being myself. I had to learn how to survive.
    This early forays into huge life changes have led me to develop grit. Over my life, I’ve displayed courage and resolve in situations I had no expertise in. Like, for example, just this past winter, I backpacked solo in Europe. Though it was fun, the experience was far from a lazy vacation –  It was work. I learned so much about the principles of how to survive and thrive in new and unusual situations. Since then, I’ve realized just how much my unique and broad perspective has been a strength. While sometimes, I feel like the odd one out, this varied vision of the world has been such a gift for me.
    I see things differently than everyone else, and it’s people like me you can count on things need to be shaken up.

 

And now, for my last point. No, I’m not going to end this with the fact that I’m a strong listener – which I am. And no, It’s not that I’ve already gained strong experience in this field – which yes, I have. It’s not that I’m a hard and tireless worker – something I’ve proven to myself and others many times. It’s something much bigger than that – maybe something that will surprise you.

 

  • It’s that I’ve always realized, quickly, exactly where I didn’t belong and what I truly sucked at. Now, this is important: it’s not just important for professionals to know their strengths and work with them… People need to be able to identify exactly what their natural weaknesses are, and what environments are toxic for them. As a professional looking to sell myself, why would I possibly end in such a negative tone? Because I believe this is one of the most important traits of a strong communicator. Truth is, every company would benefit from an employee who is self-aware and willing to be vulnerable enough to spot their own issues.They also benefit from an employee that knows exactly what kind of environment works for them. It’s only through recognizing both your strengths AND your weaknesses that you become a well-rounded communicator. If I didn’t develop this ability quickly, I would not be the kind of communicator every organization needs: one who knows her own brand, who knows exactly how her brand thrives, and how to work effectively with her strengths to avoid minefields and pitfalls.  

 

 It’s been a real joy expressing exactly what makes me a strong communications professional. I’ve told you how at the core, I’m a storyteller, and how I recognize that this is central to any job in communications. I’ve spoken to my background and experiences, which have helped me develop grit and a strong, broad perspective. And finally, I’ve told you that I know myself deeply: I know exactly the ways in which I suck and what environments are just not right for me. In this pool of candidates that all have similar qualifications, backgrounds, and experiences, how do I know that I am an excellent resource? These reasons, while being a little untraditional, and perhaps out of the box, are what I believe truly make me a stand-out.

So….When do I start?

 

Leave a Reply

